My paternal grandmother’s father’s (Henry Charles Hansen, MD EENT) side of the family has always been a bit of a mystery. I know my great-grandfather had twin siblings: Oscar and Olga.

Oscar died prematurely, I believe from complications from diabetes due to doctor’s incompetence–I’ll have to confirm this later when I find out more about Oscar.

Olga is also an enigma, though perhaps I know a little more about her. But only a little.

Close up of Aunt Olga’s confirmation certificate.

She and Oscar were born in Escanaba, Michigan in 1894. After Oscar died in 1935, family lore has it that Olga was “stuck” taking care of their aging parents. Their father also died in 1935; however, I have not been able to confirm when their mother passed away. Again, family lore says that she waited until after her parents passed to marry.

In 1941, Olga married a man named Ludwig Kjelberg. I don’t know anything about him; I don’t think we have any pictures of him (or of Olga, for that matter). At this time, I do not know when Ludwig died; Olga died in 1968.

Sometime before her death, Aunt Olga gifted this mood ring to one of her grandnieces, Susie Tibbetts (daughter of Charlene Hansen Hill Tibbetts, daughter of Dr. Henry C. Hansen).
