This is my great-grandmother, Nellie Brenne (1895-1977), long before she became a Frohmberg and probably before she lost her mother, Rosa.

My grandfather, Richard, as an infant, late 1920.
My grandfather, Richard, as an infant, late 1920.

I have no context for this photograph; my cousin sent it to me and said that she’d categorized it as taken in 1905; however, Nellie would’ve been 10 in that year and the girl in the picture looks much younger.

This is the only image of this candidness (and cuteness!) that I have of anyone in the family (except for this one on the left of my grandfather as an infant).

I wonder if one of the aunt’s paid for either or both of these portraits or if they were taken at home?

I only have one other photograph of Nellie when she was young; it was taken sometime between 1907 and 1915. She is posed with her father, Louis and her step-mother Emma (née Rosenberger). Louis and Emma were married in 1907; Nellie looks older than 12 to me here, but she could have looked mature for her age.

Undated photo of Louis and Emma Brenne, with Nellie.
Undated photo of Louis and Emma Brenne, with Nellie.
