From an email from my Great Uncle Cliff, grandson of Ignatz, March 1999:

My grandfather, Richard Frohmberg, and his bassoon; circa 1938.
My grandfather, Richard, and his bassoon; circa 1938.

When we were in high school, the orchestra used to give short performances on weekday afternoons occasionally. Brother Dick [my paternal grandfather, Richard] will probably remember more about them than I do, but I remember Grandpa Ignatz came and sat in the those high school auditorium seats. His shoulders were so broad that they extended half way into the seat on either side.

On summer, he spent most of his time reading the death notices in the German newspaper. I drove him to a lot of funeral homes that year. I guess they were mostly friends from the boat trip from Germany.

John Adams High School: Built 1923, Closed in 1995 (Now demolished); Grandpa and Uncle Cliff graduated from here.
John Adams High School: Built 1923, Closed in 1995 (Now demolished); Grandpa and Uncle Cliff graduated from here.

More on Ignatz: The First Frohmbergs in America, The House on E. 110th Street, The Lost Girl, The House on Ingleside Road, Lena’s Dream Book, and Letters from Home.


Image Credit: John Adams High School, Old Ohio Schools-Cuyahoga County

