FullSizeRender-1
Note from my grandfather, 1999.

This is the home that my grandmother, Evelyn, grew up in.

Her father, Henry, was an eye doctor in Nebraska from 1917 until he retired (I think in the 1950s).

I’m not sure when he and his wife, Nelle, bought this house. When they were married, they lived Seneca, where Henry had his first practice.

Henry was from Michigan, where his parents and sister continued to live. I do not believe they were able to make the trip to Seneca for the Nelle and Henry’s wedding.

Nelle’s parents lived nearby and, according to a letter she wrote to her new sister-in-law Olga, her mother did most of the baking for her and Henry. Apparently their small home in Seneca did not have a range and she was busy in school or teaching music lessons.

At some point, they moved to Kearney where I believe their children were born.

The house in 12th Avenue was a Sears “kit” home. It was built between 1900-1910 and cost between $500-$1500 to build.

I don’t have many stories about the house of the family (except The Day the Gypsies Stole Buddy and how Grandma had to “walk to school uphill both ways in six feet of snow dragging a two ton cello”) so here are some photos of the Hansens from the 1920s, 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s.

Henry and Nelle Hansen with their children Charlene, Gordon (Bud), and Evelyn, circa late 1924 or early 1925.
Henry and Nelle Hansen with their children Charlene, Gordon (Bud), and Evelyn, circa 1924 or 1925.
The Hansen Siblings, circa 1936: Charlene, Bud, Evelyn, and Lily.
The Hansen Siblings, circa 1936: Charlene, Bud, Evelyn, and Lily.
My grandmother, Evelyn (center), playing cello - early 1940s?
My grandmother, Evelyn (center), playing cello – early 1940s?
The Hansen Clan, c. 1940s Top: Bud and Lily; Bottom: Nelle and Doc Left: Evelyn; Right: Charlene
The Hansen Clan, circa mid 1940s
Top: Bud and Lily; Bottom: Nelle and Doc Left: Evelyn; Right: Charlene
My grandparents' wedding in Kearney, NE June 5, 1945. L-R: Nelle Hansen (mother of bride), Nellie Frohmberg (mother of groom), Henry Hansen (father of bride), Evelyn (bride), Richard (groom), and Lily Hansen (sister of bride).
My grandparents’ wedding in Kearney, NE June 5, 1945.
L-R: Nelle Hansen (mother of the bride), Nellie Frohmberg (mother of groom), Henry Hansen (father of bride), Evelyn (bride), Richard (groom), and Lily Hansen (sister of bride).

Unlike Nelle (who did not meet her in-laws before her wedding), my grandfather said that he brought Evelyn to Cleveland to meet his mother before the wedding.

Frohmberg visit to Nebraska in summer 1954 (the year my dad was born): Henry, Lily, Nelle, and Evelyn with Bill and Katie.
Frohmberg visit to Nebraska in summer 1954 (the year my dad was born): Henry, Lily, Nelle, with Evelyn and her children.

In 1999, my grandfather gave me this flier. I believe my uncle had picked it up when he drove through Nebraska sometime earlier.

FullSizeRender

It has certainly stood the test of time.

The same house, from Google Maps Street View, April 2012.
The same house, from Google Maps Street View, April 2012.
