I think most families have many ancestors and relatives who served in the military. I’ve yet to encounter a branch that didn’t have at least one member enlist or become drafted. Here’s a little piece of ours from the 1700s.

“Joel Pace served as a private in the Revolutionary War under Capt. Cyrus L. Robonds and Cols. Heath and Davies. He enlisted in Pennsylvania or Henry County (as it is now called) Virginia, and served eighteen months, there being no records of the battles in which he was engaged. He applied for pension March 23, 1829 and was a resident of Jefferson County, Illinois at the time and was 67 years of age. His wife, to whom he was married November 14, 1762, was also a pensioner. […]”

I know nothing about Joel Pace’s military career except what is stated here.

Joel Pace’s daughter, Susan, married George “Doc” Dillingham; their daughter, Lillie, married Samuel Houston Dellinger; their daughter, Nelle, married Henry Charles Hansen; their daughter, Evelyn, married Richard Paul Frohmberg.

Evelyn and Richard are my grandparents.

Ironically, Grandma was never interested in genealogy, but I somehow inherited her sister’s D.A.R. applications.

I heard that one of the Pace’s signed the Declaration of Independence, but have been unable to verify this. The Dillingham family is quite large and there are several branches in the United States and England.

According to another document I found in my Grandfather’s papers, the Dillinghams have been in America since the early 1600s. Since the family still has a significant presence, I assume that members of their family also fought, perhaps on both sides…

The Hansens, Frohmbergs, Brennes, and Jacobs didn’t immigrate to North America until much later.

The Hansens arrived from Norway and Sweden after the American Civil War; according to my (very cursory!) research into Swedish and Norwegian military history, neither were involved in any major wars between 1814 and World War 1. Perhaps this branch was spared military service for several generations… until their descendants became American citizens.

The Frohmbergs arrived in the early 1890s from Germany. I was always told that this branch immigrated specifically to avoid further “Bismarckian” wars. The irony, of course, is that military service only spared one generation. I have no record of it, but I’m sure that generations of Frohmbergs served under Bismark or during any number of German wars and battles in previous centuries.

The Brennes arrived in the 1880s, also from Germany. Again, I have no record of it, but like the Frohmbergs, I’m sure there are many of veterans of wars in, around, and for Germany going back centuries.

As close as I can tell, only single, childless members of the Jacobs family immigrated from Switzerland between 1887 and 1890. The youngest, Rosa, did marry a Brenne, but they only had a daughter (who married a Frohmberg). I have no record of their ancestors in Switzerland, though, I’m sure they were also embroiled in the Bismarckian wars, perhaps even serving as mercenaries!

