Generations of celebrating high school graduation.
Generations of celebrating high school graduation.

Originally from Great-Great Grandma Lillie Dillingham Dellinger, this bracelet was a gift for her daughter, Great Grandma Nelle Pace Dellinger Hansen’s high school graduation, circa 1906.

It was gifted to my grandmother, Evelyn, when she graduated from high school, circa 1942.

Then it was gifted to me, in my grandmother’s memory, when I graduated from high school in 1999. 

My grandfather called me Sally.

If I ever have a daughter, it will be passed on to her… for now, it’s saved for my niece, Evelyn, Grandma’s namesake.

Ring believed to have belonged to Sam or Lillie Dellinger, unknown origin.
Ring believed to have belonged to Sam or Lillie Dellinger, unknown origin.

Grandpa thought this ring might have belonged to Great-Great Grandpa Sam Houston Dellinger or his wife, Lillie.

He didn’t know why Grandma had held onto it, said it was a cheap ring…

Grandpa’s story was corroborated by Grandma’s sisters, though no one knows why it was kept and passed on. I didn’t know about the ring until after Grandma passed in 1992 while Grandpa and I were going through her jewelry box.

I’ve since found dozens of these kinds of rings at various Antique Malls and Flea Markets. Apparently, they were mass produced and quite popular in years past?

I believe this ring had extreme sentimental value to someone… wish I knew who!

